Beauty · Favourites · Film · TV

Current Favourites

sam_0747

It’s been about six months since I last did a favourites post, and these are posts that I really enjoy reading, so I thought I’d share some things that I’ve been really enjoying lately.

Benefit Goof-Proof Eyebrow Pencil
So, here’s an embarrassing admission to start this post; prior to getting my eyebrows properly threaded and tinted last month I didn’t really fill my brows in; which in this era of Kardashian brows seems to be generally frowned upon. However, my brows have kept their shape really well, and this eyebrow pencil keeps things really natural. I got a free sample with Elle magazine, but will definitely be purchasing the full-size product as I love that it keeps my brows looking full but not too scary sharp.

Jo Malone Nutmeg & Ginger Cologne
This is  technically not a new favourite, as I received this fragrance as a gift last Christmas. However, I’ve just rediscovered how much I love this spicy yet light fragrance and I’m very sad that my bottle is close to running out and its £££ pricetag makes re-purchasing a tiny bit tricky to justify.

Palmer’s Dark Chocolate & Peppermint Lip Butter
In the past couple of years I’ve really struggled with having super dry lips; an issue which is entirely one of my own making due to a combination of not drinking enough water and wearing matte lipstick. However, this is the first lip product that I’ve noticed having a real difference to my lips. Whilst they do sometimes still feel dry, this lip butter keeps them getting really sore and also smells amazing (although sadly doesn’t taste quite as good).

Ren Glycolactic Radiance Renewel Mask
Another rediscovered favourite, this Ren skincare mask is one of my two go-too masks when my skin needs some TLC. I have real difficulty getting spots that have faded to actually…leave my skin and this product is really good at helping reduce that redness and slight scaring. It is also great at brightening up your skin if that’s something that you like too.

Soap & Glory Arm-A-Gooden
This is a relatively new purchase, but I’m including it because it does appear to be actually working. This is a serum/moisturiser for your arms that helps reduce that ‘chicken-skin’ or those really irritating red bumps that never seem to leave. The product smells incredible and having used it every day for the past week, I can confirm that it does appear to already be reducing the appearance of bumps and has smoothed the texture there really well too.

Soap & Glory Thick & Fast Mascara
This is a bit of a return to a favourite product. It was the first mascara I properly loved, and having recently found myself struggling to find a good new mascara (I tried the much-loved Max Factor False Lash Effect and was underwhelmed), I returned to this. As the name suggests, it really thickens up your lashes and gives them decent length as well.


The Royal Tenenbaums
At the very beginning of the month, I went to a screening of this film at the BFI and just fell in love with it. I’d previously loved Wes Anderson’s Grand Budapest Hotel, and this was just as good. It stars Gene Hackman, Anjelica Houston, Gwyneth Paltrow, Ben Stiller, Liam Wilson and Owen Wilson, and the performances are all just fantastic. If you haven’t seen it I’d really recommend it.

Say Yes to the Dress
Okay. I know this is reality TV and its best/worst. And I know weddings aren’t the be all & end all. But I love wedding dresses…in a way that it is a bit weird for someone who is very single and unlikely to be considering purchase one for a verrryyy long time. However, this show (which is just brides choosing a dress) makes me happy; or ragey depending on how awful the family are. If you need to watch something a bit mind-numby I would recommend this.

And that’s it! I’m off to find some hot chocolate as we’ve definitely hit winter suddenly.

Amy
Twitter | Instagram

One thought on “Current Favourites

  1. Your favourites have just saved me thank you, I have been looking for a product to get help reduce those horrible bumps on my arms. I’ve used all different scrubs, everything you name it. I didn’t even know soap an glory did this, I be getting this right away!

    Like

Leave a Reply

